Eratosthenes

Lafrançaise (FRANCE)

 Collège Antonin Perbosc

Lafrançaise France Collège Antonin Perbosc 44°08’N 01°15’E

 Monday, February 06, 2006

 Monday, March 13, 2006

 Thursday, March 16, 2006

 Monday, March 20, 2006

 Friday, March 24, 2006

 Wednesday, March 29, 2006

 Monday, April 03, 2006

 Friday, April 07, 2006

 Friday, April 14, 2006

 Tuesday, April 18, 2006

 Thursday, April 20, 2006

 Friday, April 21, 2006

 Tuesday, May 09, 2006

 Tuesday, May 16, 2006

 Tuesday, May 30, 2006

 Thursday, June 01, 2006

 Friday, June 09, 2006

Lafrançaise
solar midday: 13h54min (CET)
angle : 21°10’

Cluj Napoca, Roumania,
angle: 23°40’

difference: 23°40’-21°10’=2°30’=2,5°
distance between Cluj Napoca & Lafrancaise: 292km
meridian= 292 x 360 / 2,5 = 42 048 km

 Monday, June 12, 2006

 Friday, June 16, 2006

 Monday, June 19, 2006

Measures in Lafrancaise
solar midday 13h57min (CET); angle to vertical: 20°40’
Measures in San Lawrenz , Malta;
latitude 36°03’ Nord; longitude 14°12’ Est
solar midday: 11h05min TU
Gnomon length: 1 meter ; Shadow length: 18cm
angle to verticale: 10°

angle difference between both measures:
20°40’-10°=10°40’=10,667°
distance between both places: 300km
méridien= 300 x 360 / 2,667 = 30 374 km

 Wednesday, June 21, 2006

The voice comes to us from Alexandria: “I call France…” We heard the results of the schools in Alexandria .We have also heard the results of the schools in Aswan. We must speak now: “20°40’ for a latitude of 44°08’ north.” The most important observation is far away from Alexandria: 72 km in the south of Aswan. Exactly on the Tropic of Cancer (2296 km in the south of Lafrançaise). This observation is the start of the summer. When it is solar midday, the solar rays are coming straight down from the vertical. At this place, at this moment, there is no shade.
Calculation of the circumference of the Earth:
360 x 2296/(20+40/60) = 39.994 km

Céline: She filmed this event. She collected the first impressions.



Anne-Justine: I appreciated this videoconference. It was very intimidating and strange. They called us: “France”. We could hear the echo of our voice.



Arnaud: At the beginning, I found that complicated. Afterwards, that was better


Marjorie: That was to last one hour. It is what our professor had said to us. The videoconference lasted only one half hour. Therefore I am disappointed a little bit


Cwiosna: I appreciated this videoconference. We did not see the images filmed in Assouan, it is a pity. I would have liked to see them. We did not see the beginning and the end of those filmed in Alexandria. The adjustment of verticality was the big problem, for them and for us too. They had also this problem which we did not encounter. Fixings which softened under the effect of heat. They thanked us for our measurements. We all were very impressed by the great library of Alexandria .


Home page | Contact | Site Map | | Statistics | visits: 38719

Site created with SPIP 2.1.10 + AHUNTSIC